Roberto Rovira


Over the course of three days from 17-19 January 2017, students and faculty from the College of Communication, Architecture + the Arts’ departments of Landscape Architecture + Environmental and Urban DesignArt & Art History, and Architecture, as well as staff from the Frost Art Museum and FIU’s Public Art Advisory Task Force participated in lectures, workshops, site visits, and hand-on interdisciplinary activities as part of the Spring 2017 FIU Public Art Charrette.

The charrette was designed and run by Landscape Architecture + Environmental and Urban Design Associate Professor Roberto Rovira and Architecture Associate Professor David Rifkind and was funded by Dennis Scholl, FIU Alumnus and Chair of the FIU Public Art Advisory Task Force. Charrette guests and jury included artists Robert Chambers, Jacek Kolasinski, Cathy Byrd, Randy Burman, and Manita Brug.

Student teams developed design proposals and were tasked with the following goals:

• bring awareness of FIU’s current public art inventory
• help develop strategies for FIU’s public art collection and program
• provoke a critical discussion about the role of public art on campus
• help develop guidelines for collecting and commissioning new work
• increase student engagement with the arts as a student success initiative
• use public art as vehicle to strengthen the relationship between FIU and surrounding communities
• develop strategies that can be replicated at other FIU campuses
•identify campus locations and develop design proposals to showcase campus public art


The FIU Public Art Advisory Task Force is Chaired by Dennis Scholl and comprised by:

Amy Aiken, Director, Emergency Management

Ruben Almaguer, Assistant Vice President

Emergency Management

Carlos Carrasco, Director

Administrative Services, Graham Center

Julissa Castellanos, Director Administrative Services

Vice Provost BBC

Alexander Fals, Interim Director

Analysis, Assessment & Risk Management, Facilities Management

Brenezza Garcia, Assistant Vice President

Institutional Relations, Office of the President

Sanyo Mathew, Senior Director

Graham Center

Oscar Negret, Senior Designer

Creative and Design Services, External Relations

Rafael Prohias, Associate General Counsel General Counsel

Jordana Pomeroy, Director, Frost Art Museum

David Rifkind, Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Students,

College of Architecture + the Arts

Frost Art Museum Leadership Advisory Board Member

Maryanna Ramirez, Manager of Strategic Initiatives, Frost Art Museum

Klaudio Rodriguez, Curator, Frost Art Museum

Yolanda Rodriguez, Director

University Advancement Gift Services & Data Processing

Roberto Rovira, Associate Professor

Landscape Architecture + Environmental and Urban Design

Debbye Taylor, Curator of Collections, Frost Art Museum